Breakfast Salad

Here was my concept this morning. In my quiet time I was writing out and processing all my feelings and then wrote up a salad idea, of which I eat for breakfast ever so often.      I sketched it out on my iPhone’s little notepad.

breakfast drawing

Then made a little check box for myself and said, “Go make it!”

Breakfast salads can be all kinds.  All I know is that my body loves veggies and getting enough of them helps keep me from creaking too much and insures I get my micronutrients right off the bat.  It’s like a green smoothie, except you HAVE to chew. Where’s the protein in vegetables, you ask?  It’s in there, including the fat and the carbs, plus many things scientists haven’t even discovered.  So dive in and make this or make one of your own.

BREAKFAST SALAD

  • Gather and assemble and toss…
  • 1 small steamed beet
  • 1 handful of Artichoke hearts (if frozen, steam with the beets) cooled
  • 2 handfuls of baby spinach or baby romaine or arugula
  • 1/2 C jicama
  • 1/2 C carrots diced
  • 1/2 C sugar snap peas
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 T  olive oil
  • 1/2 lemon juiced
  • real salt, a shake or two
  • garlic herb spice, a couple twists
  • dulse 5 grams (this is good stuff for thyroid , and it counteracts the goitrogens in spinach or kale but you needn’t worry about it in romaine or arugula)
  • 1/2 apple

You can also add a hard boiled egg or two (check out how to boil an egg so the shell doesn’t stick in the Green Salad, Salmon, Egg and Brown Rice Lunch recipe page.) Or put a small handful of walnuts, or almonds on top. Adding a slice or diced apple is a kick. I’ve even added a bit of brown rice or sweet potato. It doesn’t have to be complicated, just  try this for breakfast.  Your body is wanting a boost today. Here’s what My Fitness Pal says about my recipe.

Nutrition Facts
Servings 1.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 466
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 26 g 39 %
Saturated Fat 4 g 18 %
Monounsaturated Fat 17 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 3 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg 0 %
Sodium 716 mg 30 %
Potassium 986 mg 28 %
Total Carbohydrate 53 g 18 %
Dietary Fiber 19 g 77 %
Sugars 21 g
Protein 11 g 21 %
Vitamin A 303 %
Vitamin C 116 %
Calcium 23 %
Iron 40 %

Leave a Reply

